Swimmer Syndrome in Puppies?

I know I know… It has been ages since I even had a look at wordpress though I have a good excuse 🙂 hehe. Have any of you ever heard of swimmer syndrome in puppies? I honestly have never!! My dog recently had a litter of 9 and I thought everything was going perfectly and smoothly however, a month down the line, the runt of the litter still could not walk. You would hear him crying all night trying to move 1 foot in order to feed. I literally had a baby of my own! Waking up 5-10 times in the night to help this poor pup! I put it down to he’s the runt! He is weak, frail and just needs a little push.

A week later, I noticed that he was dragging himself across the ground. Legs spread out on either side like this:

pup.jpg

It looks painful right? You see!! I told you I had an excuse. The vet advised me to put him down but I just couldn’t bring myself to. So i did what any normal person would do in the 21st century… I googled. Now my little runt is running around like nothing happened almost as big as the rest!!! Please, if you have a puppy that is a “swimmer” just google. There are simple steps to help your puppy out!!

4 thoughts on “Swimmer Syndrome in Puppies?

  1. Blog Andrew says:

    Can I say you are an absolute angel, the trouble with we humans is we give up to easily either because we’re idle or just don’t care to give of our time and patience, your story has brightened up my day 🙂 ❤ (and don't worry about not posting)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

